NEW DELHI: Several Congress MPs were among the 459 party workers detained on Monday for protesting against Rahul Gandhi being summoned by the ED in connection with a probe into the National Herald case.
Senior police officers said Congress workers had not been given permission to march from the party headquarters to the ED office in support of Gandhi. Police also imposed prohibitory orders under CrPC Section 144 in some areas. They had earlier denied any permission for the protest.
The entire Lutyens’ Delhi was turned into a fortress and barricades were placed across the capital, leading to traffic disruptions at some locations.
Police said 15 Lok Sabha members, including leader of the opposition Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury; 11 Rajya Sabha members, including KC Venugopal and leader of the opposition in the RS Mallikarjun Kharge; five MLAs of different state assemblies and other party workers were among the total 459 detained in Delhi under Section 65 of the DP Act for not following lawful directions of police.
“All women workers/functionaries detained by police have been released. Some detentions have also been made in other parts of Delhi,” a police statementsaid.
Police said the AICC secretary in a letter to police had assured the gathering would not accompany Rahul to the ED office. “But as soon as Rahul left 24 Akbar Road for the ED office, many party members started proceeding along with him in the form of a procession,” a police statement said.

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *