Parameswaran Iyer Is New NITI Aayog CEO

Government think tank NITI Aayog has got a new CEO in Parameswaran Iyer

Parameswaran Iyer, a retired bureaucrat, has been appointed as the new chief executive officer (CEO) of Government think tank NITI Aayog.

He will replace Amitabh Kant to become the third CEO of NITI Aayog. Sindhushree Khullar was the first CEO of the body, which had come into existence in January 2015, to replace the Planning Commission.

Mr Kant was appointed as CEO of the think tank in 2016 and his tenure ends on June 30, 2022.

Mr Iyer’s term will begin upon the completion of Mr Kant’s tenure on June 30, 2022, a Government notification said.

Mr Iyer is a 1981-batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre. 

“The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the appointment of Shri Parameswaran Iyer, lAS (UP:81), Retd. as Chief Executive Officer, NITI Aayog vice Shri Amitabh Kant upon completion of his tenure on 30.06.2022, for a period of two years or until further orders, whichever is earlier, on the same terms and conditions as were applicable in respect of Shri Amitabh Kant,” the notification said.

Mr Kant was appointed as the CEO of NITI Aayog on February 17, 2016, for a fixed two-year term. He was later given an extension till June 30, 2019. His term was further extended for two years, till June, 2021. However last year he got a third extension till June 30, 2022.

Source link

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.